DC Breaks in KMAG :: Five Tunes That Changed My Life [Part One] (Posted By Rico)


RAM DC Breaks

DC Breaks :: KMAG :: Five Tunes That Changed My Life (Part One).

DC Breaks
‘Firez EP’
Drum & Bass
2×12”
(Ram Records)

KMAG DC Breaks Feature

“With the release of their long-awaited Firez EP on Ram Records, the duo best known to dancefloors worldwide as DC Breaks touch base with Kmag in a special two-part series to fill us in on the tunes that have helped shape their diverse and ever-evolving sound. First up Chris Page walks us through some classic bits before turning it over to Dan Havers in part two.

PRODIGY – FIRE – XL RECORDINGS (1992)
I remember seeing this on Top of the Pops back in 1992 and it had this super weird trippy video with a flaming head in it. I’d never heard anything like it before and my first reaction was “this isn’t music, it’s awful!” But it was the first ‘rave’ music I’d heard and it got me interested and it wasn’t long before I discovered dance music in a much bigger way. Looking back that’s where it all started for me.

LTJ BUKEM – LOGICAL PROGRESSION – GOOD LOOKING RECORDS (1996)
I remember one of my sister’s mates brought this tape round to our house one day – it was the first drum & bass I heard and I still haven’t stopped listening to it today! At the time I had been mostly listening to breakbeat, hip hop, some rock, but this was like a breath of fresh air it was so different. Music was my favourite track off the album, one of those tracks you could listen to on loop. A timeless classic of just great epic music….(Read More)

Click here to see Part Two of the feature.

Leave a Reply

