Logistics // Kmag & Purple Revolver Interviews (Posted By Rico)


Logistics 'Fear Not' (Hospital)Logistics ‘Fear Not’
OUT MONDAY.

Logistics
’Fear Not’
(Hospital Records)

OUT 16th APRIL.

Kmag Interview
Written By Stefan Mohamed

“Logistics, aka Matt Gresham, is one of those artists that needs no introduction, although we’re going to give him one anyway. One of drum and bass’s biggest hitters, and one whose name is synonymous with sophisticated, forward-thinking music, he’s about to drop his fourth excellent album, Fear Not, on Hospital on April 16th. We asked him about the album, his creative process and how he keeps his DJ sets fresh after so many years in the game.

Firstly, why the title Fear Not?
It’s a little nod to the variety in tempos on the album. I’ve always made other styles of music, I actually started off producing two-step garage but then after hearing Return of Forever by High Contrast and early Calibre I made the leap over to drum & bass. It’s only now that between me and Hospital we’ve decided to put some of my non-drum & bass material out there and the title is a way of reassuring people that I’m not about to stop making drum & bass.

Each of your albums inhabits its own specific space, and they’re among the most cohesive and consistent drum & bass artist LPs. Is that something you set out to do specifically, and is there an overriding concept behind the new album?
Thank you! I think with this album I was more conscious of making it different to my other albums, mainly to keep me passionate about the music I’m making. I could’ve gone round in circles making the music that people want to hear from me but there’d be no satisfaction in that for me and to be honest I’m quite selfish in terms of what I want to make. That doesn’t mean to say that I’m never going to make that sound again but right now I just felt the need to try some new ideas.

Can you tell us a bit about the album’s gestation process? How do you go about choosing the tracks and working out the running order?
Well, it was pretty much written as you hear it, give or take a few changes here and there. I was very keen with this album to make something that flowed nicely and for me the biggest flaws with my other albums is that they don’t flow as well as I’d like them to. This time around I figured the easiest way to get around that was to pretty much write the album from start to finish.

You branched out into dubstep with Time Has Come on Crash Bang Wallop!, and now Fear Not features a number of excursions into different styles and bpms. Was there any kind of specific thinking behind that, or is just natural to you to experiment?
As I said earlier, I’ve always made other styles of music, so yes, it’s always been natural for me to experiment. I think it’s an important thing to step out of your comfort zone every once in a while and whilst I’m aware that quite a few people want one particular sound from me I have to push myself and most importantly make the music it feels right for me to make. (Click here to read full article)

*******************************************************************************************************************************************************

Purple Revolver Interview

Written By Emma Cowes

“Fellow Drum and Bass lovers, gather round – Logistics is back. Matt Gresham, Hospital Records boy-next-door has returned, bearing gifts of musical brilliance.

Following on from his recently released single We Are One, Gresham is now geared up to release his fourth artist album Fear Not on April 16th.

Here, Logistics waves goodbye to his traditional style and embraces all things new, with a progression away from samples and a movement towards crafting his own analogue sound.

In eager anticipation of this new release, Purple Revolver caught up with the man himself to have a natter about his new direction, early musical influences, and a bit of casual lorry spotting…

Purple Revolver: Thanks for chatting to us. How are you today?

Logistics: I’m good thanks, still a bit tired after the bank holiday but I had a lot of fun at the gigs I played over the weekend so I can’t complain.

Purple Revolver: Did you always know you wanted to be in music? What were your earliest influences? What inspires you when you’re making music?

Logistics: I’ve always had a big passion for music but growing up I was very torn between art and music. I knew it was always going to be one or the other though. As far as my early influences go it’d be the music my parents played me like Jimi Hendrix, Steely Dan, Manhattan Transfer and Stevie Wonder. In terms of inspiration it can be all kinds of things like music from my past, current music that I hear when I’m out DJ-ing, books, films etc.

Purple Revolver: What would you say is the key defining feature in the music that you make?

Logistics: Bass and energy.

Purple Revolver: Do you find that tracks that are the most successful/liked by the public are the ones you put most effort into?

Logistics: Not so much, there’s no real correlation between that stuff. Sometimes they are the tracks I’ve made in a few hours, other times they are the ones that I’ve spent years over. That can be pretty frustrating at times but I also think that is one of the enjoyable challenges you face as a producer.

Purple Revolver: Where did the name Logistics come from?

Logistics: I was always determined to just work under my real name but at the time that wasn’t very “Drum and Bass”. The first release I did was with my brother Nu:Tone and he pushed me to get an artist name just for that particular release so one day whilst driving along on the motorway I noticed a lorry with the word ‘logistics’ on it and I was always into the way it looked as well as the connotations. It was only ever meant to be a temporary name but it ended up sticking after some of my early tracks under that name started gaining a bit of support.

Purple Revolver: We’ve heard you describe yourself as ‘not the most extroverted guy around’. Given that you spend a lot of time playing out in front of massive crowds do you find this comes as a challenge?

Logistics: Not really, I’ve always preferred to let the music do the talking and if I can I like to play with an MC who can host the sets and work on the crowd interaction side of things.

Purple Revolver: When would you say was your big break?

Logistics: Probably signing with Hospital Records. I also have to give a mention to Fabio who was always supportive of my music before I actually released anything….(Click here to read the full article)

Leave a Reply

