The Louvin Brothers on ClashMusic (Posted By Harry)

The Louvin Brothers 'Satan Is Real/Handpicked Songs 1955-1962' (Light In The Attic)

The Louvin Brothers: Satan Is Real & Handpicked Songs 1955-62

The Louvin Brothers on ClashMusic

The Louvin Brothers: Satan Is Real & Handpicked Songs 1955-62′
(Light In The Attic)
Release date: November 7th.

The Louvin Brothers are set to be the subject of a new compilation selected by Mark Lanegan, Devendra Banhart and more. Country music is littered with stars who attempted to choose to between the Bible and the bottle. Two siblings from the deep South, The Louvin Brothers are arguably the most affecting display of the dichotomy which exists in American music. Real names Ira and Charlie Loudermilk, The Louvin Brothers were celebrated for their harmonies. A mixture of high, keening country notes and sheer Southern gothic the duo’s output earned them a place at the Grand Ol Opry. Feted by country music greats, the duo’s interest in the Bible took them down some stark roads. The cult album ‘Satan Is Real’ was released in 1959, arguably containing their finest and most potent songwriting. Set to be re-issued via Lights In The Attic, ‘Satan Is Real’ will be joined by a second disc of Louvin Brothers material. The compilation has been selected by some important songwriters, with the full list containing (deep breath): Mark Lanegan, Graham Nash, Beck, Emmylou Harris, Will Oldham, Lucinda Williams, Jim James, Kris Kristofferson, Devendra Banhart, Chris Hillman, Zooey Deschanel, The Black Angels, Dolly Parton and M. Ward (Read More)
Written By Robin Murray

The Louvin Brothers
“Satan Is Real” (Light In The Attic)

Track Listing

01. Satan Is Real
02. There’s A Higher Power
03. The Christian Life
04. The River Jordan
05. The Kneeling Drunkard’s Plea
06. Are You Afraid To Die
07. He Can Be Found
08. Dying From Home, And Lost
09. The Drunkard’s Doom
10. Satan’s Jeweled Crown
11. The Angels Rejoiced Last Night
12. I’m Ready To Go Home

1959’s Satan Is Real  delves into a strange netherworld of country that no longer exists. Touching on the Louvin’s fire and brimstone southern Baptist upbringing, the title track’s spoken recitation proclaims the existence of the devil himself. Featuring the iconic “There’s A Higher Power” and “The Christian Life” (covered by The Byrds on Sweetheart Of The Rodeo), Satan Is Real is thought by many to be the pinnacle of the Louvin Brothers’ recording career. (Words from Light In The Attic)

The Louvin Brothers
“Handpicked Songs 1955-1962” (Light In The Attic)

Track Listing

1. Almost Persuaded – Handpicked by Mark Lanegan
2. My Baby’s Gone – Handpicked by Graham Nash
3. The Great Atomic Power – Handpicked by Beck
4. I See A Bridge – Handpicked by Emmylou Harris
5. Alabama – Handpicked by Will Oldham
6. When I Stop Dreaming – Handpicked by Lucinda Williams
7. Low And Lonely – Handpicked by Jim James
8. Knoxville Girl – Handpicked by Kris Kristofferson
9. Scared Of The Blues – Handpicked by Devendra Banhart
10. Don’t Laugh – Handpicked by Chris Hillman
11. You’re Running Wild – Handpicked by Zooey Deschanel
12. Are You Afraid To Die – Handpicked by The Black Angels
13. Cash On The Barrel Head – Handpicked by Dolly Parton
14. I Wish It Had Been A Dream – Handpicked by M. Ward

Handpicked Songs 1955-1962 is a shot of Louvin Brothers magic. This features 14 tracks performed by the Louvin Brothers during their golden era, each personally selected by the likes of Beck, Emmylou Harris, Will Oldham, Kris Kristofferson, Jim James, Dolly Parton and many more, all housed in a deluxe Stoughton gatefold sleeve plus a full color insert with period archival photos, and extensive liner notes along with meticulously re-mastered audio from the original tapes. Morning, noon or night, let the Louvin Brothers take you to a simpler time, when good old country music ruled the airwaves. (Words from Light In The Attic)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: